

[PARENTS]

START THE CONVERSATION WITH YOUR TEEN

Have you talked to your child about underage drinking and substance abuse? It's important for kids to hear about this topic, and others like it, from their parents.

Here are a few tips:

- ▶ Bring up the conversation casually
- ▶ Listen to what your child has to say
- ▶ Prepare your child for real-life situations
- ▶ Don't expect to discuss everything at one time

SOCIAL HOST LAW

Consciously permitting a minor to drink under your supervision or on your property is a misdemeanor. You could:

- ▶ Be fined up to \$2,000
- ► Spend one year in jail
- ▶ Be open to civil litigation, in which you could lose personal assets

[SERVERS AND SELLERS]

IT'S YOUR BUSINESS TO KNOW THE LAW

Selling or providing alcohol to someone under 21 is against the law and comes with some serious consequences.

Servers and sellers may face these (penalties/consequences) when selling alcohol to someone under the age of 21.

- ► FINES.....getting a ticket
- ► ARRESTS.....going to jail
- ► CIVIL SUITS.....going to court

EDUCATIONAL OR INFORMATIONAL VIDEOS

"Under 21, No Can" videos are for servers who work on-premise (restaurants, bars, clubs) and sellers who work off-premise (retail and grocery stores, gas stations). Learn about the consequences of selling alcohol to minors-you could be personally liable.



Learn more at Under21NoCan.org | HPPUD.org

The Hawaii Partnership to Prevent Underage Drinking (HPPUD) aims to prevent or delay the early onset of substance misuse, including underage drinking, through collaborative planning and community action.

CONNECT WITH US







Funded by the State of Hawaii Department of Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division through Partnerships for Success (PFS) Grant funds.





KNOW THE LAW. KNOW THE FACTS. NO DRINKING UNDER 21

[PARENTS]

START THE CONVERSATION WITH YOUR TEEN

Have you talked to your child about underage drinking and substance abuse? It's important for kids to hear about this topic, and others like it, from their parents.

Here are a few tips:

- ▶ Bring up the conversation casually
- Listen to what your child has to say
- ▶ Prepare your child for real-life situations
- ▶ Don't expect to discuss everything at one time

SOCIAL HOST LAW

Consciously permitting a minor to drink under your supervision or on your property is a misdemeanor. You could:

- ▶ Be fined up to \$2,000
- ► Spend one year in jail
- Be open to civil litigation, in which you could lose personal assets

[SERVERS AND SELLERS]

IT'S YOUR BUSINESS TO KNOW THE LAW

Selling or providing alcohol to someone under 21 is against the law and comes with some serious consequences.

Servers and sellers may face these (penalties/consequences) when selling alcohol to someone under the age of 21.

- ► FINES.....getting a ticket
- ► ARRESTS.....going to jail
- ► CIVIL SUITS.....going to court

EDUCATIONAL OR INFORMATIONAL VIDEOS

"Under 21, No Can" videos are for servers who work on-premise (restaurants, bars, clubs) and sellers who work off-premise (retail and grocery stores, gas stations). Learn about the consequences of selling alcohol to minors-you could be personally liable.



Learn more at Under21NoCan.org | HPPUD.org

The Hawaii Partnership to Prevent Underage Drinking (HPPUD) aims to prevent or delay the early onset of substance misuse, including underage drinking, through collaborative planning and community action.

CONNECT WITH US







Funded by the State of Hawaii Department of Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division through Partnerships for Success (PFS) Grant funds.