JOSH GREEN, M.D.

ANNE E. LOPEZ



STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL Ka 'Oihana O Ka Loio Kuhina CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

601 Kamokila Boulevard, Suite 251, Kapolei, Hawaii 96707-2021 (808) 207-9915 Mainland: 1-888-314-0037 LYNETTE J. LAU

Re: Increase of Annual Fee from \$25.00 to \$35.00

Dear Parent/Caretaker,

On February 9, 2018, President Trump signed Public Law 115-123 which requires that all state child support agencies increase the annual collection fee to \$35 from \$25. The law also revises the amount from \$500 to \$550 that a state agency must collect and disburse to the family prior to imposing the fee each federal fiscal year which begins October 1st to September 30th of each year. In order to be in compliance with this federal law, the State of Hawaii passed Act 67 during the 2019 Legislative Session.

Effective October 1, 2019, Hawaii Child Support Enforcement Agency will implement the new law. Therefore, you may see a \$35 reduction from payments received in your case(s) after \$550 has been collected and disbursed to you. The fee is not charged if you have ever received public assistance on behalf of the dependents in your care. If you have multiple cases, the fee is charged in each case.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Child Support Enforcement Agency at the telephone number and/or address listed above.

Child Support Enforcement Agency

FI	7107	1 Rev	
ГΙ	7 I Y /	I Kev	