ANNE E. LOPEZ



STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL Ka 'Oihana O Ka Loio Kuhina CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

601 Kamokila Boulevard, Suite 251, Kapolei, Hawaii 96707-2021 (808) 207-9915 Mainland: 1-888-314-0037 LYNETTE J. LAU ADMINISTRATOR

STATE DIRECTORY OF NEW HIRES QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

1. Q. Who must report?

A. Effective October 1, 1998, all Hawaii employers are required to report information about new employees to the Child Support Enforcement Agency (CSEA), New Hire Reporting. This includes all businesses, state and local government employers, and non-profit organizations regardless of the number of employees.

2. Q. Why do I have to report?

A. The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) mandated the creation of a National Directory of New Hires and required each state to have a New Hire Reporting program in effect by October 1, 1998. PRWORA required employers to report certain information on their newly hired employees to their State Directory of New Hires (SDNH).

3. Q. Which employees do I report?

A. The term "new hire" means an employee who has not previously been employed by the employer or was previously employed by the employer but has been separated from the prior employement for at least sixty consecutive days.

4. Q. What information must be reported?

- A. There are six Federally-mandated data elements employers are required to report:
 - 1. Employee's name
 - 2. Employee's address
 - 3. Employee's social security number
 - 4. The date services for remuneration were first performed by the employee. This may be the same date as the date of hire.
 - 5. Employer's name
 - 6. Employer's address
 - 7. Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

There are three additional data elements that are optional: State of hire, State EIN and employee's date of birth.

5. Q. How much time do I have to report a new employee?

A. Employers must report the new employee information to the CSEA as soon as possible and no later than 20 days from the employee's first day of work.

FI	(١1	Λ	n	Rev	. 7		
г, і		, ,	١,	.,		v		

New Hire Reporting

6. Q. What type of penalty is charged if the report is not filed?

A. \$ 25.00 Late filing

\$500.00 If the failure is a result of conspiracy between the employer and the employee not to supply the report or to supply a false or incomplete report.

7. Q. When an employee leaves my employment, do I have to report this information?

A. NO. You only have to report when an employee begins his/her employment with you.

8. Q. Where do I report?

A. Mail: Child Support Enforcement Agency

New Hire Reporting Kakuhihewa Building

601 Kamokila Blvd., Suite 251

Kapolei, HI 96707

Fax: (808) 692-7001 Phone: (808) 692-7029

9. Q. How can an employer report New Hire information?

A. There are several reporting methods:

W-4 Form After an employee completes the IRS W-4 form, fill in the employer information in the spaces provided, then fax or mail a copy to the CSEA New Hire Reporting.

SFTP Electronic Reporting Contact the CSEA for the file format and SFTP account forms and we'll work out an arrangement that will save us both time and unnecessary paperwork. The file format is also available on the CSEA website in the Information for Employers link.

Internet transmission is currently not available.

ŀ	L	O	1	0	0	Re	V				