## **Expungement Application**

Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center, Department of the Attorney General

Complete this form in its entirety. **ILLEGIBLE or INCOMPLETE applications will result in a denial. The expungement certificate will be mailed to the address provided within the 120 days authorized by HRS 831-3.2(a)**. Due to the confidentiality of the arrest records, information, including the status of an application, will NOT be provided over the phone or through email. Although optional, please attach a copy of your valid photo ID, which may assist with timelier processing.

The fee for a first-time expungement is \$35. Non-first-time expungements are \$50. The fee includes a non-refundable \$10 processing fee. Should your application be denied, the application fee minus the non-refundable \$10 will be returned to you.

## **EXPUNGEMENT OF NON-CONVICTION INFORMATION**

§831-3.2, Hawaii Revised Statutes, authorizes the expungement of non-conviction arrest information. Arrest records will be expunged from the arresting agency and the statewide repository of adult criminal history record information. <u>Records may still be retained and made available by the courts.</u> An expungement order shall NOT be issued:

- In the case of an arrest for a felony or misdemeanor where conviction has not been obtained because of bail forfeiture;
- For a period of five years after arrest or citation in the case of a petty misdemeanor or violation where conviction has not been obtained because of a bail forfeiture;
- In the case of an arrest of any person for any offense where conviction has not been obtained because the person has rendered prosecution impossible by absenting oneself from the jurisdiction:
- In the case of a person who was involuntarily hospitalized pursuant to §706-607, or who was acquitted or had charges dismissed pursuant to chapter 704 due to a physical or mental disease, disorder, or defect;
- For a period of one year upon discharge of the defendant and dismissal of the charge against the defendant in the case of a deferred acceptance of guilty plea or nolo contendere plea, in accordance with chapter 853; and
- Pursuant to §712-1200, for a period of three years upon discharge of the defendant and dismissal of a §712-1200 charge against the defendant in the case of a deferred acceptance of guilty plea or nolo contendere plea.

## EXPUNGEMENT OF CONVICTION FOR FIRST-TIME DRUG RELATED/PROPERTY OFFENDERS & DUI <21

The court may grant an order for the expungement of conviction for certain offenses and circumstances noted below. The conviction information is expunged from the statewide repository of adult criminal history record information only. <u>Records may still be retained and made available by the arresting agency and the courts.</u> Qualifying offenses include:

- §291E-0064(e) Operating a vehicle after consuming a measurable amount of alcohol; persons under the age of twenty-one;
- §706-622.5 Sentencing for first-time drug offender;
- §706-622.8 First-time drug offender prior to 2004; and
- §706-622.9 Sentencing for first-time property offender

Honolulu, HI 96813

If you are applying to have a conviction expunged, you MUST ATTACH A COPY OF THE COURT ORDER GRANTING THE EXPUNGEMENT. Applications without a copy of the court order granting the expungement of conviction will be denied.

Social Security Number:  'SSN is optional; if provided, SSN will only be used	Date of Birth: If to aid in verifying correct record is expunged)	Sex: M F
Home Address:		
Mailing Address:		
Phone:	Email:	
qualifying alleged offense(s) for which 661B. Further, I hereby declare that return of non-digitized fingerprints an   Expungement of First-time Drug In accordance with the provisions of § application and a copy of my Court of and/or Conviction for Driving Under the Before submitting application, confirm these  Signature of applicant □ Copy of	<b>1831-3.2</b> , HRS, I hereby submit this written applicate <b>no conviction</b> has been secured, or for which I had I am not a fugitive from justice. If I am found to had a photographs. <b>19 Offender, Property Offender and/or DUI 19 Today 706-622.8</b> , <b>706-622.9</b> , and <b>291E-1 19 Today 706-622.8</b> , <b>706-622.9</b> , and <b>291E-1 10 Today Granting the Expungement</b> of Conviction for the Influence; persons under the age of 21 to have making the second property of the property of the Influence of I	ve found to be eligible for redress under chapter to no record of conviction, I also request the  I <21: 0064(e), HRS, I hereby submit this written or First-time Drug-related/Property Offender
Signature	Date	
Submit completed application to: Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Ce 465 South King Street, Room 1		