

PRESIDENT

Karl A. Racine
District of Columbia
Attorney General

April 29, 2021

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Tom Miller lowa Attorney General

VICE PRESIDENT

Josh Stein North Carolina Attorney General

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Jeff Landry Louisiana Attorney General

Chris Toth
Executive Director

1850 M Street NW 12th Floor Washington, DC 20036 (202) 326-6000 www.naag.org Senator Patrick Leahy Chair

U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations 437 Russell Building Washington, DC 20510

Senator Jeanne Shaheen

Chair

U.S. Senate Committee on

Appropriations
Subcommittee on

Commerce, Justice, Science,

& Related Agencies 506 Hart Building Washington, DC 20510 Senator Richard Shelby

Ranking Member

U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations 304 Russell Building

Washington, DC 20510

Senator Jerry Moran Ranking Member

U.S. Senate Committee on

Appropriations
Subcommittee on

Commerce, Justice, Science,

& Related Agencies 521 Dirksen Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: State Attorneys General Support the Legal Services Corporation

Dear Chair DeLauro, Ranking Member Granger, Chair Cartwright, and Ranking Member Aderholt,

As state attorneys general, we respectfully request that you consider robust funding for the Legal Services Corporation (LSC) in the Fiscal Year 2022 Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations bill.

Since 1974, LSC funding has provided vital and diverse legal assistance to low-income Americans including victims of natural disasters, survivors of domestic violence, families facing foreclosure, and veterans accessing earned benefits. Today, LSC also provides essential support for struggling families affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. As the single largest funder of civil

legal aid in the United States, LSC-funded programs touch every corner of our country with more than 800 offices and a presence in every congressional district.

LSC funding has also fostered public-private partnerships between legal aid organizations and private firms and attorneys across the country which donate their time and skills to assist residents in need. Nationwide, 132 independent nonprofit legal aid programs rely on this federal funding to provide services to nearly two million of our constituents on an annual basis.

We thank you for your efforts to ensure continued funding for LSC. Please know that it makes a real difference in our communities.

Sincerely,

Karl A. Racine

District of Columbia Attorney General Nebraska Attorney General

Treg R. Taylor

Alaska Attorney General

Rob Bonta

California Attorney General

William Tong

Connecticut Attorney General

Florida Attorney General

**Douglas Peterson** 

Fainu'ulelei Ala'ilima-Utu

American Samoa Attorney General

Phil Weiser

Colorado Attorney General

Kathleen Jennings

Delaware Attorney General

Christopher M. Carr

Georgia Attorney General



Leevin Taitano Camacho Guam Attorney General

Lawrence Wasden Idaho Attorney General

Tom Miller Iowa Attorney General

Daniel Cameron Kentucky Attorney General

Brian Frosh Maryland Attorney General

Dana Nessel Michigan Attorney General

Aaron D. Ford Nevada Attorney General

Gurbir S. Grewal New Jersey Attorney General Conse

Clare E. Connors Hawaii Attorney General

Kwame Raoul

Illinois Attorney General

Denk Schundt

Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General

Janon M. Frey

Aaron M. Frey Maine Attorney General

Maura Healey

Massachusetts Attorney General

Keith Ellison

Minnesota Attorney General

John M. Formella

New Hampshire Attorney General

Hector Balderas

New Mexico Attorney General

Letitia James

New York Attorney General

Wayne Stenehjem

North Dakota Attorney General



Mike Hunter

Oklahoma Attorney General

Josh Shapiro

Pennsylvania Attorney General

son & Ro

Jason R. Ravnsborg

South Dakota Attorney General

T.J. Donovah

Vermont Attorney General

Marr R. Herry

Mark R. Herring

Virginia Attorney General

Bridget Siel

**Bridget Hill** 

Wyoming Attorney General

Josh Stein

North Carolina Attorney General

Edward Manibusan

Northern Mariana Islands Attorney General

Ellen F. Rosenblum

Oregon Attorney General

Peter F. Neronha

Rhode Island Attorney General

Herbert H. Slatery III

Tennessee Attorney General

Denise N. George

Virgin Islands Attorney General

Joshua L. Kaul

Wisconsin Attorney General

Joshua S. Kail