
POST STATE Arizona Arkansas Indiana Maryland Missouri Montana Nevada New Hampshire North Carolina Tennesee  Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming
1 Do you have a dedicated funding 

source? If so, please explain. What are 
your recommendations for ensuring 
funding?

We have a dedicated funding 
source through fees associated 
with traffic and criminal court 

adjudications.  For several years, 
we have also received 

appropriated funding in the State 
budget.  

Yes, the Arkansas POST is funded 
by appropriations from general 

revenue by the General Assembly. 

In Indiana we have a dual 
funding source.  $4.7 million 
annually, half for dedicated 
funding from half from the 
general fund.   A dedicated 
funding source is a better way 
to go if you can make it 
happen.  Keeps other’s hands 
out of your money.  

No.  Funding by General Funds 
and reimbursement fees assessed 

for each course attended, if 
applicable.

No.  We are funded through 
general revenue sources 
allocated by the legislature to 
the Director’s Office of the 
Department of Public Safety.

POST is funded through the DOJ 
special revenue fund. 

Yes, we are funded completely by 
court assessments fee.  52% go to 
the courts.  The remaining 48% go 

to a variety of agencies. POST 
receives about 14% of this 48%.  I 

would suggest looking at other 
funding sources to supplement 
any court assessment funding.  

We have for many years 
attempted to get a portion of 
general fund with out success.  

Last legislative session we 
attempted to get a bill introduced 

which would supplement our 
funding with a surcharge on rental 

cars, without success.

We are presently 100% funded 
through the State’s General Fund 
byway of legislative appropriation.  

We used to have a dedicated 
Penalty Assessment Fund.  It 

appears that most states are able 
to fund POST operations in this 
fashion.  It is important that if 

they choose this method of 
funding, they should specifically 

address that the fund is dedicated 
to POST funding and cannot be 

accessed by other state agencies. 
NH PSTC learned this lesson 

through experience. 

In NC there are two State POSTs.  
One for the Sheriffs’ Offices and 

one for all other law enforcement 
agencies/officers. 

The Criminal Justice Standards 
Division is receipt funded where 

the Division receives $3 from 
court fees.

The Sheriff Standards Division is 
funded through the general fund.

No, we have a general 
appropriation each year.  We do 
have an annual pay supplement 
we pay to the individual officers 
for training compliance that is 
funded from a fee on driver 

licenses and vehicle registrations. 

General funding from the state Forfeiture and penalty 
assessments, 

WY does not have a dedicated 
funding source.  We are funded 
through the WY Att. Gen. with a 
small amount of revenue coming 
from entry level testing.  The rest 
is negotiated during state budget 

cycles.

2 Do you charge a POST application fee, 
certification fee, or any other fees and 
what bases do you use to support the 
amount charged?

We do not charge applicants or 
agencies for our services

No, the POST does not charge any 
fees associated with certification. 

Indiana charges each agency 
$500 per student to attend. 
That does not begin the cover 
the cost of a residential 
academy but if defers some of 
the costs. 

No Fees No, we do not charge any 
fees.

POST does not charge any fees Very little.  We charge $600 for 
agencies to send recruits to our 

academy (small offset to our cost 
of about $14,000 per recruit).  We 

charge $400 to take our on line 
reciprocity training. All other 

training provided by POST  is free.

NH does not charge any fees for 
attendance, tuition or such.  Any 

ancillary costs are taken on by the 
hiring police department in 

support of their recruit.

No, we do not. No No None We only charge for an entry level 
test that is optional so the funding 

is unpredictable and minor. 

3 What other funding sources do you rely 
on for supporting POST administration?

Answered in question #1 The POST, by state statute, may 
accept private gifts/donations/etc, 
but does not rely on any funding 
of this nature.  All funding comes 

from the General Assembly. 

Grants Budget funding annual.  Only 
other monies come from 

"recovery cost" based upon "out-
of-pocket" costs per cost.

None.  Only general revenue 
(state taxes). 

None

We have been quite successful in 
receiving  two or more grants per 

year to fund everything from 
instructors and curriculum 

development to equipment and 
training aids and vehicles.

Presently none The Criminal Justice Standards 
Division also manages the 
Concealed Carry Handgun 

Instructor Program and a Retired 
Law Enforcement Officer Program 

where we receive receipts.  The 
Sheriffs’ Standards Division also 

administers the Sheriffs’ 
Supplemental Pension Fund which 
generates additional funds for this 

Division. 

We rely on support from our main 
academy personnel.  That is 

funded by 2/3 appropriation and 
1/3 tuition fees. 

General Purpose Funding Excess funds from the AG office 
and assets forfeitures. 

4 How do you determine the proper 
amount of POST staff to fulfill your 
required responsibilities?

The staff has been set for many 
years with small adjustments. We 

have six employees and a 
manager who oversees new hire 

certification and ongoing 
compliance related to misconduct.  

We have five employees who 
handle basic and advanced 

curriculum development.  We 
have two IT professionals.  We 

have two Assistant Attorney 
Generals assigned to our office.  

We have two video media 
professionals who create training 

videos.  We have four 
administrative professionals to 

assist.

In Arkansas, the POST is 
responsible for Standards 

compliance and delivery of the 
basic academy and other 

specialized training. The POST has 
three training locations, staffed as 

necessary to conduct efficient 
operations. The Standards branch 
of the POST houses the attorney 

responsible for decertification, the 
Law Enforcement Support Office 

(the federal LESO program), 
curriculum coordinator and 

developer, administrative staff for 
processing, and agents 
responsible for auditing 

departments in the state for 
compliance with POST standards. 

(See Tab: Arkansas POST Addt'l 
Info)

We have 15 on-staff 
instructors and use loaned 
instructors on a regular basis. 
Numbers depend on your 
model of training.  SBT 
requires more obviously than 
classroom style. 

Skills Based, i.e., firearms, EVO, 
DT/PT are established by 

Commission Regulations.  Other 
programs, instructor to student 

ratio, determine on a case-by-case 
basis.

MO POST has been in 
existence since 1979 and our 
staffing levels have varied 
over the years.  When I 
started in 1998, we had a staff 
of 11.  We currently have 
about 17,000 officers and we 
license about 1,000 new 
officers each year.  We 
regulate 20 basic training 
centers, 10 licensed 
continuing education (CE) 
providers, and we review 
about 1,500 CE courses per 
year.  At full staff, we should 
have 8 people.  Because of 
budget withholdings related 
to COVID, we are down to a 
staff of 6, so we are starting 
to get behind on our 
responsibilities.  We hope to 
hire one position back in the 
spring. 

Montana POST is staffed with 
three FTE and one emergency hire 
FTE.  Staffing levels are static and 

have not changed in 10 years.

We are responsible both for training 
(including our own basic training 

academy) and standards 
(regulatory). Staffing is essentially 

determined by Commission 
mandated training subjects in the 

academy, and compliance and hiring 
issues developed by the legislature 
and Commission. For example we 
are mandated by statute to audit 
agencies and academies yearly to 

insure compliance. We have about 
10 academies and 133 agencies 

across the state so staffing for this 
area is driven by work load. We 

have about 12500 peace officers in 
our state so hiring and certification 
standards personnel numbers are 

driven by that. We run two 17 week 
academies per year with about 32 

recruits each, so staffing is 
determined by those numbers (in 

addition we run a disciplined, stress, 
live in academy and staffing is 

driven by that also).

We have been staffed in a very 
organic way.  Staffing has 

fluctuated over our 50 year 
history. 

Staffing requests are processed 
through the State’s HR system.

We have 6 full-time staff and 2 
part-time dedicated permanently.  

We send additional resources 
from our main academy on an as-

needed basis. 

Based on periodic analysis of 
requirements & workload

Staff size is determined by WIDOJ 
and legislature (for certain 

programming)

WY has two staff members, a 
Director and Training Coordinator.  

The Director handles 
decertification investigations and 
the Training Coordinator handles 

entry certifications and 
advancement certifications. 



5 Do you have a minimum age 
requirement for peace officer 
certification?  What are your 
recommendations in instituting such a 
requirement?

21 Yes, 21. State law says 21. Must be at least 21 years of age.  I 
agree with this requirement.

Yes.  21 years of age before 
eligible for licensure and they 
can begin the basic academy 
at 18.

Yes, 7-32-303.  Peace officer 
employment, education, and 

certification standards -- 
suspension or revocation -- 

penalty.  (1) For purposes of this 
section, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise, "peace 
officer" means a deputy sheriff, 

undersheriff, police officer, 
highway patrol officer, fish and 

game warden, park ranger, 
campus security officer, or airport 

police officer.
(2) A sheriff of a county, the 
mayor of a city, a board, a 

commission, or any other person 
authorized by law to appoint 

peace officers in this state may 
not appoint a person as a peace 
officer who does not meet the 
qualifications provided in this 

subsection (2) plus any additional 
qualifying standards for 

employment promulgated by the 
by the Montana public safety 
officer standards and training 

council.

Yes, must be 21.  In todays world 
and the focus on policing makes it 

even more critical that new 
officers demonstrate maturity.  

Despite the recruiting challenges, I 
would suggest 21 is a necessity 

today as the minimum.

18 years of age.  This is set forth in 
our administrative rules. In the 

face of reform initiatives, this may 
change here.  

With Criminal Justice Standards 
Division the age is 20.  With the 
Sheriffs’ Standards Division the 

age is 21 for deputies and 
detention officers and 18 for 
certified tele-communicators. 

18 years of age.  Each jurisdiction 
should determine what is best for 
them, we remain on the low end 

due to the needs of rural law 
enforcement.

18 18 years old.  However, almost all 
departments require 21.  

I recommend 21.

WY requires a Peace Officer to be 
an adult which is 18 years of age.  
Most agencies require them to be 

21 years of age.  

6 Do you have a minimum education 
requirement?  What are your 
recommendations in instituting such a 
requirement?

Must have a high school diploma 
or GED. Some agencies prefer a 

college degree.

Yes, a High School diploma or GED 
is required. 

State law says HS education or 
GED. 

Currently a High School diploma 
or GED.  Commission has had 
recent discussions, nothing 

changed yet, relating to requiring 
some college education.  This is a 
good quality as it demonstrates 

commitment to expand and 
continue the ongoing knowlege 

base.

High School.  An Associate’s 
Degree has been discussed, 
but with recruitment being 
what it is, I do not see this 
changing anytime soon. 

Yes, all public safety officers must 
attend a basic academy training 
within one year of appointment.  

Recommend: Minimum education 
requirements with annual review 

to address training areas that 
need adjusted or edited.

Currently it is high school or 
equivalent. To get to  

intermediate or advanced POST 
certificates requires college.  

Again with recruitment what it is , 
I would keep it at high school for 
entry but institute mandates or 

incentives for formal education as 
they progress through their 

career.  We do have individual 
agencies that require anything 

from 60 college units to a 
bachelor’s degree.

HS diploma, GED or Home School 
Cert.  Again, this has not changed 

since the inception of our 
academy but in the face of 
reform, this may change.  

Both Division requires at least a 
high school diploma or equivalent.  

High School Diploma or General 
Education Certificate. Each 

jurisdiction should determine 
what is best for them, we remain 
on the low end due to the needs 

of rural law enforcement.

No Minimum 60 college credits.  If 
not at time of hire, within five 

years of employment

Our minimum education 
requirement is a high school 
diploma or GED.  We do not 

accept home school diplomas. 

7 Does your state use a college/university 
based academy system and what is/has 
been your experience with it?

In addition to regional academies, 
we do have four police academies, 

which are run by community 
colleges.  The attendees are self-
sponsored and pay tuition to the 

school.   There are some issues, as 
our rules do not allow us to 

remove a recruit from a 
community college program.  The 
problem is when we conduct the 
background audit we can identify 

issues which will preclude the 
recruit from ever getting hired so 
in essence the program has little 

to no benefit for them.

No, with one exception, basic 
training is delivered by the POST.  

There is one 2-year college 
established under state statute 
that delivers basic training.  The 
curriculum is approved by the 

POST prior to delivery. 

No Higher Ed involvement. Maryland has 20 Academies, of 
which 4 are conducted under the 
umbrella of a Community College.  
With the exception of one college, 

which is and has always been 
under the direction/supervision of 
a former or retired police officer 
there have been issues with the 

quality and content of the training 
completed.  Currently one of the 

colleges is under investigation and 
may be presented to the 

Commission later this year to 
remove Academy Approval.

Out of our 20 basic training 
centers, 11 are located at 

colleges/universities.  We have 
had no concerns.

No We do allow college based 
academies, but currently only 

have one.  Our experience is it is 
difficult to meet college campus 

rules and regulations when 
running a proper academy.  The 

reality is basic training is just that, 
training, not just education and 
some of this training (discipline, 

scenario and reality based, 
firearms etc) all pose issues on a 
college campus.  That said all of 
our academies are accredited by 

colleges in some way.  In addition, 
college education department 

requirements often allow 
attendees who may not meet our 

minimum background 
requirements.  Obviously this 
poses a problem from POST 

perspective.

We are the sole source for 
academy training for the entire 

state.  One facility, one 
curriculum, and every police 

officer must attend our program 
to be certified, (State, County and 

Municipal.)   

In NC, Basic Law Enforcement 
Training (BLET) is administered 
through approved agencies and 
through the State’s Community 
College System.  This system has 

worked well for us. 

We do have two approved 
community college academies.  TN 

POST has not been in favor of 
expanding to more academic 

academies. 

No Wisconsin has 16 technical 
college academies and 6 
employer based academies. 
System works well… although 
each technical college is an 
independent entity which can 
cause communication 
challenges.  I have found that 
working together is far more 
efficient than directing 
academies to comply with a 
new LESB rule.

WY has a state certified academy.



8 What crimes or other activity are 
automatic disqualifiers for certification?  
Do you base it on arrests (charges filed) 
or convictions?  For non-criminal 
matters a finding of liability?

A felony conviction is the only 
thing, which triggers an automatic 
revocation.  That being said, the 
Board has the ability to revoke 

certification for any form of 
malfeasance, misfeasance, or 

nonfeasance.    The peace office 
has full due process rights, if they 
choose to exercise them, which 

culminates with a hearing in front 
of an Administrative Law Judge.  

Any felony conviction is an 
automatic disqualifier. 

Additionally,  federal law prohibits 
a person convicted of a domestic 
offense from carrying a firearm.  

Any domestic conviction is an 
automatic disqualifier in Arkansas.  
POST certification standards and 
decertification rules can be found 

here 
https://www.dps.arkansas.gov/w

p-
content/uploads/2020/05/1002.p

df 
and here 

https://www.dps.arkansas.gov/w
p-

content/uploads/2020/05/1034.p
df

No felony convictions Commission actions are always 
based upon FINAL status of 

investigation or adjudication.  
Felony convicts are disqualified.  
Any crime resulting in inability to 

have/carry a firearm is a 
disqualifier.  Other actions, both 

criminal and agency 
administrative are on a case-by- 
case review and decision by the 

Commission.

Committing any criminal offense, 
whether or not a charge has been 
filed, can result in a denial of entry 

into an academy or denial of a 
peace officer license. 

See Tab: Montana POST Addt'l 
Info

Our hiring and certification 
standards prohibit any felony 

convictions, history of violence, 
domestic violence conviction, use 

of or addicted to controlled 
substance (arrest, conviction or 
discovered via background), any 
sustained incident of dishonesty 

or moral turpitude issue is 
disqualified automatically, mental 

health issues.  For non criminal 
such as “Brady” issues they must 
be sustained to disqualify them. 

Other issues are based on 
preponderance during the 

background.

I have attached our most 
recent set of rules for this. 

(see New Hampshire Post 
Addt'l Info tab)

Below I have provided the links for 
certification standards and the 

forms utilized by both Divisions. 

See Tab: North Carolina POST 
Addt'l Info for links

Any felony or misdemeanor 
involving force, violence, theft, 

illegal alcohol/drugs, gambling or 
domestic violence, or a series of 

misdemeanors that show a 
disregard for the law, is a 

disqualifier.  Waiver authority for 
minor offenses has been granted 

to POST and they are granted on a 
case-by-case basis.  Conviction, 

plea of guilty or nolo contendere.  
No.

Felonies, crimes of moral 
turpitude, sex crimes, domestic 

violence

To receive certification, officers 
must complete the minimum 18-
week law enforcement academy 
(unless from another state as a 
sworn officer).  Those attending 
the academy are either hired by 

an agency (sponsored) or allowed 
to attend as a civilian (non-

sponsored).  Those sponsored 
meet the minimum state 

requirements 
(https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/
code/admin_code/les/2/Title?up=

1) and agency requirements 
(which can be more stringent than 

state requirements).  Besides 
what is in the state requirements, 

agencies may have different 
standards (as an example OWI 
arrests and/or traffic citations). 
Obviously, felony and domestic 

violence convictions are 
immediate disqualifiers. 

Felonies are an automatic 
disqualifier applicants also have to 
be physically able to perform the 

job and psychology fit as 
determined by a doctor and 

psychologist.  Only convictions are 
considered. 

9 What crimes or other activity require 
decertification review?  Is it based on 
arrests (charges filed) or convictions?  
For non-criminal matters a finding of 
liability?

In Arizona, when an officer 
separates employment the agency 
is required to notify AZPOST.  As 
part of that notification, they are 

required to advise if they are 
aware of misconduct which may 

rise to the level of an AZPOST 
rules violation.  It is through this 
process that we receive most of 
our cases.  We also take direct 

complaints.

Arkansas Decertification rules can 
be found here:

 
https://www.dps.arkansas.gov/w

p-
content/uploads/2020/05/1034.p

df

One felony conviction or two 
misdemeanors that show a 
propensity for violence or 
disregard for the law (very 

subjective on the misdemeanors). 

Same as #8 This explains the grounds for 
license discipline and the process 

in great detail:
 

https://dps.mo.gov/dir/programs
/post/disciplinary.php 

This link will open the 
Administrative Rule for Procedure 

For Making Allegations of 
Misconduct:

 
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway
/RuleNo.asp?RN=23%2E13%2E70

3

Any felony , gross misdemeanor 
or domestic violence conviction is 
cause for revocation and must be 
reported to us. Misdemeanors, an 

agency may request we take 
action to revoke.  Convictions.  

Again sustained Brady issues (lying 
during the IA etc)

Same as 8 Below I have provided the links for 
certification standards which 
includes what could result in 

sanctions being issued against an 
officer’s certification or result in 

the denial of certification. 

See Tab: North Carolina POST 
Addt'l Info for links

Any of the above crimes 
committed after certification are 
grounds for decertification.  Not 

for a finding of liability.

Felonies, crimes of moral 
turpitude, domestic violence.  

Termination/resignation for any 
law violation will result in 

decertification.  

The Law Enforcement Standards 
Board (LESB) 

(https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/s
tatutes/statutes/15/ii/255/1) is 

the authority to decertify officers 
for the following circumstances: 

(See Tab: Wisconsin POST Addt'l 
Info)

Misdemeanor convictions are 
reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

10 Do you require agencies to report 
terminations and misconduct for 
decertification investigations?

See above.  Agencies are not 
required by statute to report all 
misconduct but believe that will 

change in the next year. 

State law requires law 
enforcement agencies to report 
any separation of an officer from 

the department and the 
circumstances surrounding the 

separation.  State law also 
requires hiring agencies to contact 
the POST prior to employing any 

person as a law enforcement 
officer to obtain information 
about prior law enforcement 

employment. 

Yes Any change in an officer's 
employment status must be 

reported to the Commission for 
consideration(s) relating to 
certification.  NOTE:  Any 

employment action resulting in 
the end of employment, 

resignation, termination, etc., 
immediately results in voidance of 

officer certification.  An officer 
must maintain employment with 
the agency that he/she was with 

at the time Certificaiton was issue.  
Upon going to another 
department, the other 

department must reapply for 
officer certifcation on behalf of 

the officer.  Maryland's 
Commission does not allow or 

permit an individual to 
apply/request certification....must 

be requested by a department.

Yes, this is mandated by state 
statute and failure to do so is a 

criminal offense. 

No All criminal terminations must 
be reported to us (regardless 
of whether there is a 
conviction or not)

Yes we do Yes.  Agencies are required to 
submit an Affidavit of Separations 
to the Division.  The agency must 
indicate whether the officer was 

involved in any criminal 
misconduct or was subject of an 

IA within the last 18 months. 

Any termination or suspension for 
more than 10 days must be 

reported to POST.  Any arrest of a 
certified officer must be reported 

by the agency and the officer. 

As of March 1, 2021, yes  The LESB requires that agencies 
report an “End of Employment 

Status” to the Director of Training 
and Standards Bureau. Please 
contact me directly for agency 

options in our database.

We require notification of all 
terminations. 

11 Is there a requirement for an agency to 
complete an internal investigation if an 
officer resigns during an on-going 
investigation?

We have no authority to direct a 
police agency to complete an 

investigation.  In cases where an 
officer resigns in the middle of an 
internal investigation, the Board 
has the ability to close the case 
with a designation of Resolve in 
the Future.  If this happens, our 
staff creates a list of questions 
that must be answered by any 

other agency, which wants to hire 
the officer.  

No Not yet, but there is pending 
legislation that will address such 

an scenario. 

No.  However, if the individual 
applies to another department 

the investigation must be 
completed prior to reissuing 

officer certification.

No, but we will gather what they 
have so far and can further 

investigate on our end.  We have 
subpoena authority. 

No That is a policy issue for agencies.  
We do recommend it and many 

agencies do complete the IA even 
if they resign.

No Neither Divisions regulates 
requirements for internal 

investigations. 

No No No requirement No

12 In your state, do Unions/CBUs challenge 
decertifications or have a process to 
arbitrate a decertification decision?

There are no mechanisms for 
unions to get involved in 

decertification other than they 
provide a lawyer to the officer to 

assist with the hearing.

No A contested case is argued before 
an administrative law judge.  The 

decision is then sent to our 
training board  for adjudication.  If 

grounds for decertification are 
found, the officer’s name goes on 
a state registry and IADLEST list.  
An officer has the right to have 

counsel.  

Yes...and normally creates a slow-
down and increase to the length 

of actions.

No.  Appeals to a disciplinary 
action are filed with the 
Administrative Hearing 

Commission, a separate state 
entity. 

(See Tab: Montana POST Addt'l 
Info)

The certificate holder is afforded 
due process and we conduct 
administrative hearings for 

revocations. They are allowed 
representation of course.

They have collateral options but 
any argument for or against a 

decertification must come to us.  
They may appeal our decision in 

Superior court. 

N.C. is a Right to Work state. 
Applicants/Officers have the right 
to appeal any proposed sanction 
or denial of certification through 
the State’s Administrative Office 
of the Court and have their case 

heard by the respective 
Commission. 

No No No.  An officer has 15 days from 
decertification notice to request a 
hearing with the LESB Executive 

Committee

No



13 Do you have annual continuing 
education requirements for in-service 
officers and if yes, what are they?

We require eight hours a year of 
continuing training and eight 

hours every three years of 
proficiency training.

Yes, law enforcement officers are 
required to complete 24 hours of 

POST-approved continuing 
education annually. Annual 

training must include completion 
of firearms qualifications and a 

racial profiling course. 

24 hrs annually.  Mandatory 2 
hrs on use of force, 2 from 
EVO and 2 on firearms. 

Yes...minimum of 18 Academic 
Hours and Firearms training and 
qualification, if they are issued a 

departmental weapon.  Most 
officers in Maryland are issued 

weapons.  Only a couple of School 
Police units are not issued or carry 

firearms.

Yes, 24 hours per year.  

Details: 

https://dps.mo.gov/dir/programs
/post/2021-clee-training.php

POST provides audit results to 
officers/agencies and a defined 
period of time to complete the 

required training.

Yes.  Officers must complete 12 
hours of specific subject training 

annually (Human trafficking, racial 
profiling, implicit bias, officer 

wellbeing, de-escalation, firearms 
and mental health. In addition 

officers must annually 
demonstrate proficiency in 
arrest/control, less lethal 

weapons, use of force and 
firearms twice.

Presently, 4 hours of 
firearms/UOF training plus 8 more 

hours of any approved topic 
annually.  A rule change that is 

being vetted will begin to increase 
those hours to 24 hours annually 
and include mandatory training in 

certain areas as well.  

Yes.  All active certified individuals 
are required to complete at least 

24 hours/credits of in-service 
training.  The training required is 
identified by state requirements 
and identified through a review 
process with the Commissions. 

Minimum of 40 hours of annual in-
service or specialized training for 

each officer. 

40 hours of in-service every 2 
years: 4 legal, 2 cultural diversity, 

34 career development 

24 hours yearly (July 1 to June 30) 
for law enforcement, jail and 

secure detention officers. Training 
and Standards Bureau does not 

specific training needs except for 
the yearly handgun qualification 
and biennial 4 hours of pursuit 

driving.

To advance from basic, an officer 
has two years to receive 80 hours.  

From Advanced to Professional, 
the officer will have three years to 

gain another 80 hours.  Once at 
Professional, they have to 

maintain 40 hours every two 
years. 

14 What is your process for handling failure 
to meet any in-service training 
requirements?

We conduct random training 
audits of every agency.  Our goal is 

to create a mechanism to audit 
the training record of every 

officer, every year.  If we find a 
deficiency, we work with the 
agency to correct it.  If that is 

unsuccessful, we take the officer 
in front of the Board and restrict 
their certification until they come 
into compliance with the training 

requirements.  

Continuing education is a 
minimum standard for continuing 

employment.  The POST may 
remove any officer from service 

that does not meet minimum 
standards. 

A call to the local prosecutor 
to void the officer’s arrests. 

Certification is not renewed until 
the required training is 

completed.   Maryland issues 
recertification cards annually.

The officer’s license is made 
inactive for failing to complete 

continuing education.  Once 
Inactive, they cannot hold a law 

enforcement commission.  
Extensions are provided for 
medical and military leave. 

Each agency must report 
compliance to us by December 31.  

Those officers who have not 
complied and remain out of 

compliance by June 30 of the 
following year are placed on the 
agenda for the July Commission 
meeting and may be suspended 

until such time as they have made 
up the missing training.

Suspension until training is 
complete in a timeframe that we 

dictate or decertification. 

Officers who do not complete 
their in-service training are 

summary suspended and are not 
allowed to perform law 

enforcement duties until they are 
back in compliance with the 

Commission. 

We withhold the pay supplement 
from the individual officer and 

make the agency appear before 
the commission and explain.  A 

failure to train a second 
consecutive year results in 

inactive or decertified status. 

Notification to officers and 
agencies prior to exipration, 

followed by decertification if not 
in compliance  

Decertification by LESB, see 
number 9.

Decertification

15 Have you conducted a Job Task Analysis 
(JTA) for your basic training?  How 
often?  Who conducted the JTA?

Yes, in 2018.  It is the only one I 
am aware of and it was conducted 

by Systems Design Group.

No Every 5 yrs…outside consultant 
does the work.

Currently in the process of 
completing a JTA with HumRRO, 

Human Resources Research 
Organization, Alexandria, Va.

Yes, but it was back in 1996.  
Because of the expense, we have 

not completed another.  Val 
Lubans conducted ours.  From 

there, the MO POST Commission 
and our subject matter experts 
have updated the mandatory 

basic training learning objectives 
and source documents when 

necessary. 

No Not recently (our most recent was 
a physical JTA for PT about 8 years 

ago to establish our minimum 
physical readiness including entry 

and passing levels for the basic 
academy)

Yes, last JTA was conducted in 
2000.  Private vendor. I have been 

here for 10 months and am 
working with the University of NH 

graduate program.  They are 
having a grad student conduct the 

JTA as a capstone project. 

Yes. NC is currently going through 
a JTA.  Standards & Associates was 

awarded the contact to conduct 
the JTA. 

Not since the 1990s.  A deceased 
professor and academy instructor 
at one of our community college 

academies. 

Yes, Val Lubens, 2018.  Prior to 
that, it was done in 1998.  

2013/2014, conducted by Training 
and Standards Bureau

Only one approximately 9 years 
ago. 

16 Contact Name/Email/Phone Number Matt Giordano  
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POST STATE Arkansas

4 How do you determine the proper 
amount of POST staff to fulfill your 
required responsibilities?

The Standards branch is overseen by a 
Deputy Director and the Training 
branch is overseen by a Deputy 
Director.  Both Deputy Directors 
report to a single Director for the 

POST. The POST is overseen by a 10-
member Commission appointed by 

the Governor, responsible for 
certification standards, 

decertification, and other 
administrative matters.  

16 Contact Name/Email/Phone Number Amanda Yarbrough
POST Attorney



POST STATE Montana

8 What crimes or other activity are 
automatic disqualifiers for certification?  
Do you base it on arrests (charges filed) 
or convictions?  For non-criminal matters 
a finding of liability?

Statutory language:
d) not have been convicted of a crime for which the person could have been imprisoned in a federal or state penitentiary;

(e) be of good moral character, as determined by a thorough background investigation;
(g) be free of any mental condition that might adversely affect performance of the duties of a peace officer, as determined after:

(i) a mental health evaluation performed by a licensed physician or a mental health professional who is licensed by the state under Title 37, who is acting within the 
scope of the person's licensure when performing a mental health evaluation, who is not the applicant's personal physician or licensed mental health professional, 

and who is selected by the employing authority; or
(ii) satisfactory completion of a standardized mental health evaluation instrument determined by the employing authority to be sufficient to examine for any 

mental conditions within the meaning of this subsection (2)(g), if the instrument is scored by a licensed physician or a mental health professional acting within the 
scope of the person's licensure by a state;

(h) be free of any physical condition that might adversely affect performance of the duties of a peace officer, as determined after satisfactory completion of a 
physical examination performed by a health care provider who is licensed by the state under Title 37 and acting within the scope of the person's licensure when 

performing the physical examination, who is not the applicant's personal health care provider, and who is selected by the employing authority;
(ii) satisfactory completion of a standardized mental health evaluation instrument determined by the employing authority to be sufficient to examine for any 

mental conditions within the meaning of this subsection (2)(g), if the instrument is scored by a licensed physician or a mental health professional acting within the 
scope of the person's licensure by a state;

(h) be free of any physical condition that might adversely affect performance of the duties of a peace officer, as determined after satisfactory completion of a 
physical examination performed by a health care provider who is licensed by the state under Title 37 and acting within the scope of the person's licensure when 

performing the physical examination, who is not the applicant's personal health care provider, and who is selected by the employing authority;
(i) have successfully completed an oral examination conducted by the appointing authority or its designated representative to demonstrate the possession of 

communication skills, temperament, motivation, and other characteristics necessary to the accomplishment of the duties and functions of a peace officer;
(j) possess or be eligible for a valid Montana driver's license; and

8 (con't) (k) be certified or be eligible for certification as a peace officer by the council or become eligible for certification upon completion of the requirements contained in 
subsections (6) through (10).

Administrative Rules:
23.13.201    MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR THE APPOINTMENT AND CONTINUED EMPLOYMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICERS

(1) All public safety officers must be certified by POST and meet the applicable employment, education, and certification standards as prescribed by the Montana 
Code Annotated.  (2) In addition to standards set forth in the Montana Code Annotated, including but not limited to 44-4-404, MCA, all public safety officers must:

(h) be in good standing with POST and any other licensing or certification boards or committees equivalent to POST in any other state such that no license or 
certification similar to a POST certification has been revoked or is currently suspended in any other state;

(j) abide by the code of ethics contained in ARM 23.13.203;

This link will open the Administrative Rule for Grounds for Sanction:

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=23%2E13%2E702

12 In your state, do Unions/CBUs challenge 
decertifications or have a process to 
arbitrate a decertification decision?

Yes. The administrative rule states, in part:
(k) complete, within every two calendar years, 20 hours of documented agency in-service, roll call, field training, or POST-approved continuing education training 
credits, which include but are not limited to a professional ethics curriculum covering the following topics and any additional topics required by the council: (i) a 

review of the Code of Ethics ARM 23.13.203 and Grounds for Denial, Sanction, Suspension, and Revocation ARM 23.13.702; 
(ii) review of the annual POST integrity report;

(iii) discussion involving core values of each employing agency which may include integrity, honesty, empathy, sympathy, bravery, justice, hard work, kindness, 
compassion, and critical thinking skills;

(iv) review of agency policy and procedure regarding ethical and moral codes of conduct;
(v) discussion of the similarities and differences between agency and POST consequences for actions that violate policy or rule.

16 Contact Name/Email/Phone Number Perry Johnson 



POST STATE New Hampshire

8 What crimes or other activity are 
automatic disqualifiers for certification?  
Do you base it on arrests (charges filed) 
or convictions?  For non-criminal matters 
a finding of liability?

Pol 301.05 Background Investigation

Pol 301.05 Background Investigation. The following shall apply to the background investigation of the
applicant by the agency: (a) The hiring authority shall conduct, or cause to be conducted, a background investigation before appointing a person or investing with 

authority any person elected as a police, corrections or probation/parole officer, notwithstanding that the officer may already be employed by another hiring 
authority or is already a certified police, corrections or probation/parole officer; (b) Prospective applicants shall complete a personal history for the hiring authority 
on a Personal History Statement form supplied by the council, including the following information: (1) Applicant identification information, including: a. Full name; 

b. Address; c. Telephone; d. Nicknames; e. Driver's license number and expiration date; f. Height; g. Weight; h. Hair color; i. Eye color; j. Scars, tattoos, or other 
marks; k. Birth date; l. Place of birth; and m. Citizenship; (2) A listing of residences for the past 10 years, including address and dates of residence; (3) Work history 
for the last 10 years, including: a. Employer name, address and telephone number; b. Job title; c. Supervisor; d. Co-worker; e. Dates of employment; and f. Reason 

for leaving; (4) Military record, including: a. Dates and branch of service; b. Highest rank held; c. Unit designation; d. Military service number; e. Type of discharge; f. 
Disciplinary actions; and g. Complete details if other than honorable discharge; (5) Educational history, including: a. High school name and address, dates attended 

and whether graduated; b. Names, addresses and attendance dates of colleges/universities and trade schools attended; and
c. Major and certification/degrees awarded; (6) Special qualifications and skills, including: a. Licenses held including dates of issue and expiration;

b. Abilities to operate specialized machinery; c. Foreign language proficiency; and d. Other special skills; (7) Convictions, arrests, detentions, and litigation, including 
for each instance as applicable: a. Agencies; b. Charges; c. Disposition; and d. Civil litigation that the applicant was a party to; (8) Traffic conviction and accident 

record, including: a. Revocations and suspensions of license; b. Current automobile insurance policy number and issuer; and c. A listing of the following information 
for traffic charges and crashes: 1. Dates; 2. Charges; 3. Locations; and 4. Disposition; (9) Marital and family history, including: a. Name, address and telephone 

numbers of current and former spouses, children, other dependents, parents and siblings; b. Date of marriage; c. Date of separation or divorce, including: 1. Date of 
court order; and 2. Name and state of court; (10) Name, address and telephone number of 5 references or acquaintances, and number of years known; (11) 

Financial history, including sources of income, real estate owned, identification of bonds, stock, and bank accounts; (12) Financial obligations, including identifying 
information on all forms of indebtedness;

(13) Any history of illegal use of any controlled substance since the age of 16; (14) Any history of illegal use of any controlled substance while employed as a law 
enforcement officer, prosecutor or courtroom official; (15) Any history of illegal purchase, manufacture, trafficking, production, transfer, shipping, receiving, or sale 

of any narcotic, depressant, stimulant, hallucinogen, or cannabis;

8 (con't) (16) A statement certifying that there are no willful misrepresentations, omissions, or falsifications in the completed Personal History Statement form and that the 
applicant is fully aware that any such misrepresentations, omissions or falsifications will be grounds for immediate rejection or termination of employment; and 

(17) Current date and signature of the applicant; (c) The hiring authority shall include in its investigation a check of the following sources in order to determine the 
applicant's character, reliability, and honesty, pursuant to (g) below: (1) Military records; (2) Documents, including driver license, high school diploma and birth, or 

naturalization records; (3) The National Crime Information Center; (4) All local police files, and police files in all communities where the applicant has lived or 
worked; (5) State motor vehicle records in each state where the applicant has lived or worked; (6) Schools attended within the past 10 years; (7) Past and present 

neighbors, spouses, and landlords 8) Acquaintances and character references, and fraternal and social organizations the applicant belongs to or has belonged to; (9) 
A personal inquiry with the applicant's present and past employers for the past 5 years; and (10) Any other sources of information which the above contacts show 
to be important; (d) One or more of the items specified in (c)(6), (7), (8), and (10) above may be omitted when, in the opinion of the hiring authority the applicant's 
character and background are so well-known to the hiring authority as to render such action unnecessary; (e) The agency shall retain in its files until 5 years after 
termination, a synopsis of the background investigation report. Such files shall be made available for inspection by the director of police standards and training or 

his or her authorized representative should an occasion arise where the accuracy of those files or compliance with these rules is in question; (f) The hiring authority 
or designee shall conduct a personal interview of the applicant; (g) The hiring authority shall evaluate the results of its background investigation and the agency 

shall not appoint a person or invest with authority any person elected as a police, corrections or probation/parole officer, who: (1) Falls under any of the following: 
a. Suffers from a mental disorder, as defined in Pol 101.27, for which he or she has not undergone effective rehabilitation, and which would affect his/her ability to 

perform law enforcement or corrections duties; b. In the opinion of the psychologist or psychiatrist, exhibits behavioral traits that, could adversely affect such 
person’s ability to perform the essential functions of a law enforcement officer, or c. In the opinion of the psychologist or psychiatrist or the hiring authority exhibits 

a
psychological profile that is incompatible with that which is required for law enforcement duties, including but not limited to: 1. A lack of impulse control; 2. A lack 
of anger management; 3. A propensity for assaultive behavior; and 4. A propensity for illegal sexual behavior. (2) Has ever been convicted of a felony by a civilian 
court or by a military court, whether or not the charge had been annulled nor whether a suspended sentence was completed, and for which he or she has never 

received a pardon; (3) Has been convicted of a misdemeanor by a civilian or military court and for which he or she has not received a pardon, which offense or the 
underlying circumstances surrounding the commission thereof was such that it would cause a reasonable person to doubt the applicant's character, honesty or 

ability;
8 (con't)

(4) Has been convicted in a civilian or military court of multiple misdemeanors or violations for which he or she has not received a pardon, and which would 
indicate to a reasonable person a pattern of disregard for the law; (5) Has been convicted in a military or civilian court in the 10 years immediately before 

application for hire as a police or corrections officer of a misdemeanor for which he or she has not received a pardon, and which resulted in a serious bodily injury 
to another person; (6) Has ever been dishonorably discharged from the military service; (7) Has been discharged from the military service under other than 
honorable conditions, where the circumstances demonstrate a lack of good moral character as specified in (m) below; (8) Has ever illegally manufactured, 

transported for sale, or sold a controlled substance as sale is defined in RSA 318-B:1, unless, upon review of the council at the request of a hiring authority, the 
council finds that: a. Either: 1. The conduct occurred at an age when the applicant would have been considered a juvenile under the laws of the state of New 

Hampshire; or 2. Where a sale as defined in RSA 318-B:1 did occur, however, the intent was not for profit, meaning the actual conduct exhibited was not intended 
to result in an excess of financial return over the expenditure in a transaction or series of transactions; and b. The behavior pattern under the totality of the 

circumstances did not demonstrate a lack of good moral character as specified in (m) below; (9) Within 36 months before the application for hire, has illegally used 
a controlled substance other than marijuana, unless the applicant was under the age of 21 at the time of using the controlled substance, in which case 24 months 

shall apply unless, upon review of the council at the request of a hiring authority, the council finds that the behavior pattern under the totality  of the circumstances 
did not demonstrate a lack of good moral character as specified in (m) below; (10) Within 12 months before the application for hire, has used marijuana unless, 

upon review of the council at the request of a hiring authority, the council finds that the behavior pattern under the totality of the circumstances did not 
demonstrate a lack of good moral character as specified in (m) below; (11) While employed in a law enforcement capacity has ever illegally used a controlled 

substance unless, upon review of the council at the request of a hiring authority, the council finds that the behavior pattern under the totality of the circumstances 
did not demonstrate a lack of good moral character as specified in (m) below;



8 (con't)
(12) Has knowingly made a material false statement in the application process; (13) Has a history of discriminatory behavior or outward bias against any protected 

class or minority group which would bring into question or cast doubt on the candidate’s ability to act in a fair and impartial manner.
(143) Has been discharged or allowed to resign in lieu of discharge for reasons of moral character as defined in Pol 101.28 or Pol 301.05 (m) or moral turpitude as 

defined in Pol 101.29, from employment as a police, corrections or probation/parole officer for acts or omissions of conduct which would cause a reasonable 
person to have doubts about the individual's honesty, fairness, and respect for the rights of others and for the laws of this state or nation; (154) Uses any legal drugs 

or alcohol to excess; or (165) Whose general character and reputation in the community are such that a reasonable person would doubt that the applicant would 
conduct him/herself with honesty and integrity and uphold the rule of law; (h) If there is any indication of mental disorder, the applicant shall not be appointed 

unless the results of a mental status examination conducted by a New Hampshire licensed psychologist or psychiatrist indicates that the applicant is fit for duty as a 
police or corrections officer; (i) The hiring authority or designee shall inquire whether certification or license of the person as a police or corrections officer has ever 
been denied or revoked by the council or by a similar agency in another jurisdiction, and if so, whether the denial or the revocation has been rescinded. The agency 

shall not appoint an officer whose certification or license is under suspension or revocation in this or any other jurisdiction; (j) All information, documents and 
reports obtained by a police or corrections department as part of the background investigation shall be retained by the department along with any criminal record 

and copies of the personal history statement, the medical examination, the high school diploma or G.E.D. certificate, and the psychological status report if any. Such 
documents and reports shall be made available for inspection by the director of police standards and training or his/her authorized representative should an 

occasion arise when the accuracy of those documents or compliance with these rules comes into question; (k) Prior to admission to a basic training program for full 
or part-time police, corrections, or probation/parole officers, or prior to submitting a request for certification based on prior training and experience, the hiring 

authority shall certify to the council on council form "I", titled "Affidavit of Background Investigation" that he or she conducted a background investigation on the 
applicant in compliance with the provisions of this rule, and caused the applicant to be fingerprinted on an applicant card, and that the department has received or 

is waiting for written notification from the Federal Bureau of Investigation that the applicant has no criminal history record that would prohibit his/her hiring 
according to these rules; (l) The hiring authority shall provide the following on the Form "I": (1) The name of the hiring official; (2) The name of the applicant; (3) The 
list of required areas of inquiry listed in Pol 301.05(c)(1)-(10); (4) The signature of the hiring official; and (5) The date of completion; (m) For purposes of this section, 
a determination of a lack of "good moral character" shall not be restricted to acts that reflect only moral turpitude, but shall be based upon the consideration of all 
aspects of a person's character as exemplified by his or her behavior, including but not limited to the following: (1) Violation of a statute of this or any other state, 

territory or nation for which a penalty may
be imposed; (2) Conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, or attempted deception regarding an application, examination or other document for securing employment, 

eligibility, or certification; (3) Conduct involving misrepresentation or tampering with official records or reports, tampering with 
8 (con't) witnesses or falsifying evidence; and (4) Conduct that would adversely reflect on a person's fitness to perform law enforcement or corrections duties, including but 

not limited to: a. The excessive or illegal use of force; b. Intoxication while on duty; c. Sale or use of illegal controlled substances; d. DWI; e. Domestic abuse; f. 
Undue familiarity with known criminals, which for the purpose of this clause means any social or sexual relationship between an officer subject to certification by 
the police standards and training council and a known criminal; g. Sexual harassment; h. Stalking, or criminal violations of a protective order; i. Slanderous use of 

confidential information; j. Bribery or acceptance of illegal gratuities;
k. Theft or misappropriation of funds or property; l. Child abuse; m. Perjury; n. Assault; or o. Disorderly conduct; and (n) The council shall not certify a person as a 

police, corrections or probation/parole officer, as applicable, if it finds that an applicant was hired by an agency despite meeting any of the disqualifying criteria set 
out in Pol 301.05 (g).

Source. #1534, eff 2-17-80; ss by #1988, eff 3-25-82; ssby #2783, eff 7-27-84; ss by #4437, eff 6-22-88; ss by#5836, eff 6-15-94; ss by #7302, eff 6-8-00; amd by 
#7967, eff 9-26-03; ss by #9168, INTERIM, eff 6-3-08, EXPIRES: 11-30-08; ss by #9224, eff 8-1-08; ss by #12041, eff 11-16-16

Pol 402.02 Revocation or Suspension Emergency Rule [DATE] Amend Pol 402.02, effective [11-16-16] (Doc. # 12041), by inserting new paragraph (a)(13) cited and to read as follows:
Pol 402.02 Revocation or Suspension. (a) The council shall, unless it has just cause to do otherwise as provided in (e) below, order the suspension or revocation of 
the certification of any certified officer for any of the following reasons: (1) The certification was obtained by fraudulent or illegal means; (2) The officer has been 

convicted either prior to or after certification of a crime which constitutes a felony in this or any other state, territory, province or country; (3) The officer has been 
convicted either prior to or after certification of a misdemeanor for which there was a sentence of incarceration, regardless of whether all or part of the sentence 
was suspended; (4) The officer has been convicted either prior to or after certification of a crime of moral turpitude or of a crime which tends to bring discredit to 

themselves, to their hiring authority or to the police,
corrections or probation/parole service on the police or corrections service , including but not limited to: a. Theft; b. Assault; c. DWI; d. Criminal threatening; e. 

Reckless conduct; f. Corrupt practices; g. Falsification of documents or evidence; h. Fraud; i. Sexual assault; j. Public indecency; k. Stalking or criminal violation of a 
protective order; l. Reckless driving; or m. Disobeying an officer; (5) The officer's discharge has become final or he or she has been allowed to resign in lieu of 

discharge, has resigned during an internal investigation, or resigned through a negotiated resignation, from police or corrections employment in this or any other 
state, country, or territory for reasons of: a. A lack of moral character as defined in Pol 101.28 or Pol 402.02 (l); b. Moral turpitude as defined in Pol 101.29; or c. For 

acts or omissions of conduct which would cause a reasonable person to have doubts about the individual's honesty, fairness, and respect for the rights of others 
and for the laws of the state or nation; (6) The officer has, after being hired as a police, corrections or probation/parole officer: a. Used marijuana; b. Illegally used 
or possessed any other controlled substance; or c. Illegally purchased, sold, cultivated, transported, manufactured, or distributed a controlled drug or an imitation 

controlled drug;
(7) The officer is unable to continue as an active duty police, corrections or probation/parole officer for a period of 45 days or more by reason of a severe level 
mental disorder as diagnosed by a psychologist or psychiatrist who uses mental status examinations and standardized psychological tests normed for police or 
corrections officers; (8) Any certified law enforcement officer has willfully: a. Violated council rules relative to himself or herself or the officers working under 

his/her control; b. Submitted false or forged documents; or c. Misrepresented a document or testimony before the council; 

Pol 402.02 (con't) 9) The officer's certificate was issued through administrative error; (10) The officer has failed or refused to complete the applicable firearms training requirements 
of Pol 404.03 or the in-service training requirements of Pol 403.01; until the requirements have been met; (11) A part-time officer has worked more than 1300 

hours in a calendar year without successfully completing the full-time academy; or (12) The officer has entered no plea or an innocent plea to a criminal offense, 
and agreed to participate in a diversion program in lieu of a trial. (13) The officer has engaged in behavior, whether on or off duty, which tends to bring discredit on 

the police, corrections, or probation/parole services or upon the officer as a sworn law enforcement officer, or which impairs the operation or efficiency of the 
criminal justice system or the officer. (b) A certification shall be temporarily suspended pending resolution of criminal charges if the officer has been arrested, 

indicted or bound over either prior to or after certification for a felony or any crime involving moral turpitude or of a crime which tends to bring discredit on the 
police, corrections, or  probation/parole service, unless the council, in its discretion, determines that the safety of the public or the confidence in the criminal justice 

system would not be adversely affected. (c) Examples of crimes that involve moral turpitude or of a crime which tends to bring discredit on the police, corrections 
or probation/parole service shall include but not be limited to those items listed under 402.02 (a) (4). : (1) Theft; (2) Assault; (3) DWI; (4) Criminal threatening; (5) 

Reckless conduct; (6) Corrupt practices; (7) Falsification of documents or evidence resulting in unsworn falsification, false testimony or evidence tampering; (8) 
Fraud; (9) Sexual assault; and (10) Public indecency.  (d) A certification shall be suspended if the officer has attempted suicide or self-mutilation, orcommitted self-

mutilation, until such time as an evaluation by a licensed psychologist selected by the
council certifies the person as fit for duty.(e) The council shall apply a balancing test to determine whether factors constituting just cause

outweigh the public interest in protecting the safety of the public or confidence in the criminal justicesystem, including maintaining the integrity of sworn law 
enforcement, if a violation of section (a) or (d)of this rule is found. If any just cause demonstrated by the officer outweighs the purpose of protecting the safety of 

the public or confidence in the criminal justice system including maintaining the integrity ofsworn law enforcement, the council shall decline to order suspension or 
revocation. In determiningwhether to suspend, revoke, or impose no sanction, the council shall apply the following factors indetermining the level or kind of 

disciplinary sanction imposed:



Pol 402.02 (con't) (1) The seriousness of the offense; (2) The officer’s prior disciplinary record; (3) The officer’s acknowledgment of his or her wrongdoing;(4) The purpose of the rule 
or statute violated; (5) The potential harm to the safety of the public or confidence in the criminal justice system, including

maintaining the integrity of sworn law enforcement. (f) Examples of just cause pursuant to (e) above shall include but not be limited to: (1) Suspension or 
revocation would not have a rehabilitative value; or and (2) The officer's health or service status makes suspension or revocation a needless gesture. (g) In 

determining whether to suspend, revoke, or impose no sanction, the council shall apply the following factors in determining the level or kind of disciplinary 
sanction imposed: (1) The seriousness of the offense; (2) The officer’s prior disciplinary record; (3) The officer’s acknowledgment of his or her wrongdoing; (4) The 

purpose of the rule or statute violated; (5) The potential harm to the safety of the public or confidence in the criminal justice system, including maintaining the 
integrity of sworn law enforcement. (h) A suspension or revocation imposed upon an officer pursuant to (g) above shall be intended to be the minimum sanction or 
sanctions, both in type and extent, that the council believes will, based upon the unique facts and circumstances of each act of misconduct: (1) Protect the safety of 
the public or confidence in the criminal justice system, including maintaining the integrity of sworn law enforcement; and (2) Deter both the officer charged and any 
other officer from engaging in such misconduct in the future. (i) If a person has been denied a certificate after exhausting all appeals under this section, the council 
shall accept a petition for rescission of the denial no sooner than 12 months following the date of denial. The petitioner shall state in writing the reasons why the 

denial should be rescinded. (j) If a person has had his or her certificate revoked after exhausting all appeals under this section, the council shall accept a petition for 
rescission of the revocation after no sooner than 24 months following the date of denial . The petitioner shall state in writing the reasons why the action should be 

rescinded. The action shall be rescinded if conditions or circumstances have changed so that the basis for the action no longer exists. (k) If a petition for rescission is 
based on one or more of the reasons set out in Pol 402.02, a hearing on the petition shall be held as provided in Pol 200. If the denial is rescinded , the petitioner 

shall be eligible for hire by a participating police department, but shall serve a probationary period as defined in Pol 101.35, before he or she shall be recertified. (l) 
For purposes of this section, a determination of a lack of "good moral character" shall not be restricted to acts that reflect only moral turpitude, but shall be based 

upon the consideration of all
aspects of a person's character as exemplified by their behavior, including but not limited to the following: (1) Violation of a statute of this or any other state, 

territory or nation for which a penalty may be imposed; (2) Conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, or attempted deception regarding an application, examination or 
other document for securing employment, eligibility, or certification; (3) Conduct involving misrepresentation or tampering with official records or reports, 

tampering with witnesses or falsifying evidence; and (4) Conduct that would adversely reflect on a person's fitness to perform law enforcement or corrections 
duties, including but not limited to: a. The excessive and illegal use of force; b. Intoxication while on duty; c. Sale or use of illegal controlled substances; d. DWI; e. 

Domestic abuse; f. Undue familiarity with known criminals, 

Pol 402.02 (con't) which for the purposes of this clause means any social or sexual relationship between an officer subject to certification by the police standards and training council 
and a known criminal; g. Sexual harassment; h. Stalking or criminal violations of a protective order; i. Slanderous use of confidential information; j. Bribery or 

acceptance of illegal gratuities; k. Theft or misappropriation of funds or property; l. Adultery; m. Child abuse; n. Perjury; o. Assault; or p. Disorderly conduct. (m) A 
person who has had their police, corrections or probation/parole officer certification revoked or suspended shall not be allowed to work in a capacity that would 

allow them to exercise the same authority as a certified officer or that would give the appearance that they have the same authority as a certified officer during the 
period of suspension or revocation.

Pol 403.01 In-service Training The Director of the Police Standards and Training Council (PSTC) shall take all necessary steps, including initiating appropriate rulemaking, to: (a) Increase the 
mandatory number of required hours of annual in-service training on anincremental basis over the next three years to ensure that, by January 1, 2024, the total 

mandatory number of hours of annual in-service training is no less than twenty-four
hours. (b) Mandate that annual in-service training as approved by PSTC include, at a minimum, two hours on each of the following topics: 1. Implicit bias and 

cultural responsiveness 11. Ethics 111. Descalation PART Pol 403 CONTINUING EDUCATION Statutory Authority: RSA 106-L:5 IV 188-F:26, III
Pol 403.01 Annual In-Service Refresher Training. (a) (a) Beginning January 1, 2021, Each police or corrections every certified officer, in order to maintain their 
certification, shall complete at least 8 hours annually of refresher 2 hours of mandatory in-service training, on each of the following topics: a. Implicit Bias and 

Cultural Response, (2 hours) b. Ethics, (2 hours) c. De-Escalation, (2 hours) (b) Annually, each police or corrections officer shall complete, in addition to the above 
mandated 6 hours of in-service training; a. Beginning on January 1, 2021, an additional 4 hours of appropriate in-service training, for a total of 10 hours of in-service 

training required for 2021, exclusive of firearms, first aid or defensive tactics, sanctioned by the agency or the council. b. Beginning on January 1, 2022, an 
additional 6 hours of appropriate in-service training, for a total of 16 hours of in-service training required for 2022), exclusive of firearms, first aid or defensive 

tactics, sanctioned by the agency or the council. c. Beginning on January 1, 2023, an additional 8 hours of appropriate in-service training, for a total of 24 hours of in-
service training required for 2022 exclusive of firearms, first aid or defensive tactics, sanctioned by the agency or the council. d. These training requirements can be 

completed by officers attending in-service training at NHPSTC, by attending police training through 3rd party vendors, by attending local agency classes or by 
completing on-line. In the case of local agency classes, the records requirements under POL 403 (c) apply. (cb) The hiring authority shall submit to the council 30 

days after the conclusion of each calendar year a certification that it has complied with this requirement, and shall retain in its files for 5 years a copy of the lesson 
outlines and attendance rosters of any training relied upon to satisfy the requirement.

Pol 403.02 SRO Certification Pol 403.02 School Resource Officer Certification-DRAFT
(a) Any certified police officer who is assigned as a School Resource Officer must be“School Resource Office certified”, under this rule, prior to their assignment. (b) 

To achieve initial certification as a NH School Resource Officer, a certified police officer must complete the following three (3) training programs before they can 
assume their position as an SRO: a. National Association of School Resource Officer, (NASRO) 40 hour Basic

Certification, b. Mirror Project-Train the Trainer Certification, and, c. Effective Police Contact with Youth Certification. (c) Thereafter, to maintain certification as a 
NH School Resource Officer the SRO must complete eight (8) hours of annual in-service training in topic areas that will continue to

enhance their effectiveness in working within the school environment and with their school population. In-service training topics could include, but would not 
limited to training in, Mental Illness Response Involving Juveniles, Legal Issues in Schools/NH Juvenile Law Review, Youth Mental Health First Aid, Youth Crisis 

Intervention, Active Threat Response Restorative Justice Techniques, or any other such training that enhances
SRO effectiveness. (d) Any training that is completed by a certified police officer to obtain or maintain a NH SRO certification outlined in this rule may also use these 

training hours to help complete their overall annual in-service training requirements listed in Pol 403.01. (e) If an SRO fails to meet their annual SRO mandated 
training, their certification will lapse until such time as they make up all outstanding training hours.

16 Contact Name/Email/Phone Number Chief John Scippa
Director of NHPSTC               



POST STATE North Carolina
Links: NC Administrative Code:

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp?folderName=\Title 12 - Justice\Chapter 09 - Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp?folderName=\Title 12 - Justice\Chapter 10 - Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-commission-forms-publications/

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/#91-112-wpfd-in-service

16 Contact Name/Email/Phone Number Richard N. Squires
Interim Director



POST STATE Montana
9 What crimes or other activity require 

decertification review?  Is it based on 
arrests (charges filed) or convictions?  
For non-criminal matters a finding of 
liability?

The Law Enforcement Standards Board (LESB) (https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/15/ii/255/1) is the authority to decertify officers for the following 
circumstances: 
•	Failure to comply with a rule, policy, or order of the LESB relating to curriculum or training.
•	Falsification of information to obtain or maintain certification status.
•	Certification as a result of an administrative error.
•	Conviction of a felony or of any offense which if committed in Wisconsin could be punished as a felony.
•	Conviction of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
•	Failure to complete a minimum of 24 hours of annual recertification training including the LESB ‐approved
handgun qualification course and biennial vehicle pursuit training.
•	Failure to achieve an associate degree or 60 ‐a                   
or tribal law enforcement employment.
•	Failure to pay court ‐ordered payments of child or family support maintenance, b   
expenses, or other expenses related to the support of a child or former spouse, or who fail to comply, after
appropriate notice, with a subpoena or warrant issued by the Department of Children and Families or a county child support agency under § 59.53 (5) and related 
to paternity or child support proceedings

16 Contact Name/Email/Phone Number Steven Wagner
Director of Training and Standards Bureau
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