Hawaii State Victim Assistance Academy
The Department of the Attorney General was awarded $161,844 in Federal funds under the FY 2018 Discretionary Training and Technical Assistance Program for VOCA Victim Assistance Grantees. The funds will be used to implement a Hawaii State Victim Assistance Academy (HSVAA) that will provide training and support to those who work directly with victims of crime. The grant period is from October 1, 2018 to September 30, 2021.
CPJAD has convened a Hawaii State Training Committee (HSTC), comprised of victim service providers and other stakeholders, to develop a collective vision for the HSVAA. The first HSTC meeting was held on January 17, 2019. The HSTC will guide the development and implementation of the HSVAA to ensure that the training provided is necessary and relevant to staff, supports career development, and results in high-quality services to victims of crime.
Hawaii State Victim Assistance Academy (HSVAA)
SEPTEMBER 2021 APPLICATIONS ARE OPEN!
What: The Hawaii State Victim Assistance Academy (HSVAA) provides a part time, four-week skills-based online training program that covers fundamental advocacy skills, victim’s rights, ethics, neurobiology of trauma, and other topics foundational to working with victims of crime. The training will be presented by the National Crime Victim Law Institute (NCVLI) a nationally recognized expert in legal advocacy and crime victimization. NCVLI has developed curriculum for and taught the Oregon, Washington and, most recently the Hawaii, State Victim Assistance Academies. With the completion of 40 hours of course work, students will earn their certificate.
Who should apply: Victim Assistance staff serving in paid or volunteer positions with three (3) years of experience or less working with victims of crime. Staff with more than three (3) years of experience may be accepted on recommendation from their supervisor. Supervisors should be aware of the required 40 hours of coursework for the HSVAA.
Important dates: September 9-30, 2021; 10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
**Accepted students must commit to 40 hours of work, attending the entire four weeks.
Cost: There is no registration fee.
Technology Requirements: Computer, reliable Internet access, speakers, a microphone, and a video camera.
For more information: Announcement of Hawaii State Victim Assistance Academy (HSVAA) Training September 2021
Download application form: HSVAA Student Application 9-2021
For additional information, please contact Bow Mun Chin at [email protected] or 808-586-1154
Application Deadline: — August 10, 2021