Criminal History Frequently Asked Questions
- What is the difference between a name check and a fingerprint check?
- Does HCJDC criminal history record information include other states’ or federal records?
- Does HCJDC criminal history information include juvenile records?
- Is criminal history record information public record?
- Who can access non-conviction (arrest) information?
- Can I access my own record?
- Can I do my own record checks?
- Is there a cost?
- What is an expungement?
What is the difference between a name check and a fingerprint check?
Hawaii’s criminal history records are supported by fingerprints of the individuals arrested. Because an individual at the time of arrest may use alias names, a fingerprint comparison, in conjunction with other identifying information, is the only way to be sure if a person has a criminal record or not.
To conduct a fingerprint background check, you will be asked to provide a clear set of fingerprints from the person who is the subject of the search.
When dealing with information as sensitive as criminal records, the certainty of having a fingerprint match may well be worth the extra effort.
It is possible to do a search based on an individual’s name. Although not as reliable as a fingerprint-based check, additional items such as social security number, sex and date of birth help to narrow the search down, and make a name check more accurate.
Does HCJDC criminal history record information include other states’ or federal records?
No. Only Hawaii arrests are included.
Does HCJDC criminal history information include juvenile records?
No. Only adult criminal history information is included, unless the juvenile case was transferred to the adult court. To obtain juvenile record checks, please contact Hawaii State Judiciary – Family Court – Juvenile Records Department at 808-954-8190.
Is criminal history record information public record?
Arrest records which have resulted in convictions (found guilty), or acquittals or dismissals by reason of physical or mental disease, disorder or defect, under Chapter 704, HRS, are considered public record and are available at Public Access Sites throughout the state, and on the Adult Criminal Information Web Site at www.ecrim.ehawaii.gov. Arrest records which have resulted in non-convictions or are still pending are considered confidential and are not available to the general public.
Who can access non-conviction (arrest) information?
Only criminal justice agencies and agencies authorized by Hawaii’s laws, such as the Department of Human Services for their child care program, can access non-conviction information.
Yes. You have the right to access your own record and to challenge the completeness and accuracy of the information. This is done through a fingerprint check called Access & Review.
Can I do my own record checks?
Yes. You can do name checks on the Adult Criminal Information Web Site at www.ecrim.ehawaii.gov. There is a $15.00 fee for each printed copy, and you must pay by credit card.
You can also do name checks at Public Access Sites throughout the state. You need to have the person’s name, social security number, sex, and date of birth. There is a $25.00 fee for each printed copy. You may pay by money order or cashier’s check.
You may also request the HCJDC staff to do the record check for you by completing a Form at the HCJDC, or writing in to us at:
Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center
465 S. King Street, Room 102
Honolulu, HI 96813
There is a $30.00 fee for each request. You may pay by money order or cashier’s check.
|Public Access Printout||$25.00|
(Done by HCJDC staff)
|Fingerprint Check||$55.00 in person / $35 by mail|
|First Expungement||$35.00, including a $10 non-refundable processing fee|
|Second/Subsequent Expungement||$50.00, including a $10 non-refundable processing fee|
|Sex Offender Record Printout||FREE|
- In-Office: Payments: NO CASH ACCEPTED. Accepted payment methods are Credit, Debit, Apple Pay, Money Order or Cashiers Check (payable to “State of Hawaii”). Payments made by Credit, Debit, Apple Pay will accrue a 3% non-refundable service fee.
- By Mail: Money order or cashiers check (payable to “State of Hawaii”). NO PERSONAL CHECKS ARE ACCEPTED.
- eCrim web site, by Credit or Debit card.
If you are arrested or charged with, but not convicted of a crime, you can apply to have that arrest expunged, or erased, from your criminal record. Your arrest must meet certain criteria as specified by Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 831-3.2.
Arrest records that have been expunged from your criminal record are confidential and are not available to the general public.
For more information on expungements, please visit the expungements frequently asked questions page.